Skip to content

Plans for Our Future.

March 10, 2010

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. 14 I will be found by you,” declares the LORD… (Jeremiah 29:11-14).

I’ve heard that verse (the first part of it, at least) more often than I can count. It seems as though it is one of the first verses memorized by those whom are memorizing verses. The words have always been good, but have somehow never seemed to connect too deeply with me until now.

I am nearing the end of my time here at CWU earning my degree. About 4 years ago I could see so clearly that this was the next step in my life: go home and earn a degree in education. I knew that was the next step, but I didn’t know what would follow. I didn’t even know if I was to become a teacher (in fact, I didn’t feel called to be a typical teacher in a classroom here in the states). I never imagined this step would take this long. I never imagined I would find someone to love here and get married. But life is beautiful, and I am here, in Ellensburg, married to a man who treats me better than I thought I would ever be treated. But what next?

I will be graduating one year from now, and the opportunities seem endless. I will have a degree in both Elementary and Special Education. The special education part means that there are many options for work outside of the classroom… so many that I have no clue what to do. Jeff wants to go to seminary and has also dabbled with a couple other ideas, for the time being. Seminary can be done in several different locations, in a couple different ways.

Where will we be?
What will we do?
When will we go?
Who will we be with?
How will we get there?
Are we prepared?
When will we know?
How long will we be there? Doing that?

For I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you.

He’s got it under control. Though I can’t see what’s coming, I know that something is there, and it will be prosperous and not harmful to us. We have hope because we trust God for our future. We are praying to Him, and He is listening. We are seeking Him with all of our hearts and we will find Him.

He has our plans. He has our futures. He has our hearts.

We trust in you, Lord.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

